Kai Japanese Ramen in Honolulu

unnamed-2

Kai Japanese Ramen Honolulu
Photo Credit: ionasiatrend.com

 

According to Wikipedia “the origin of ramen is unclear” no matter, the Japanese made it famous and well known today.  I have to admit, Im a true ramen girl, total ramen lover.  I’ve been spoiled as a child, and had only the best and true Sapporo Ramen, from Sapporo of course.  So, I’m very doubtful when I go eat at a ramen-ya, especially when they proclaim to specialize in “Hokkaido” or “Sapporo” style ramen.  To my surprise,  Kai Ramen was pretty darn good.  I ordered the the Shoyu Ramen (my favorite) the broth was thick or kotteri which is robust and very rich with flavor.  Their Curry was delicious, rich in color and flavor.  My husband ordered the mini curry and the portion was quite large considering its a mini.  My  son ordered the Goma Tan Tan Men the broth had a nutty flavor and was kotteri, thick and robust with flavor.  Their gyoza I was disappointed with, it was bland not much for taste at all.  Even the texture of the filling I was disappointed with.  This is my third time eating at Kai Ramen and I have ordered gyoza every time, hoping it would get better.  They just don’t make good gyoza in my opinion.  I have to warn you that the broth is really salty, so you need to drink a lot of water and since the bathroom is located in another building just behind the shop it is a little inconvenient.  Other than the gyoza, I love this simple little ramen-ya.  This little shop is located at 1430 Kona St, below Axis Hair Salon (The best Japanese Hair Salon in Hawaii).  Their hours of operation is 11:30 am to 9 pm daily.  They even have happy hour see picture below.  My family and I really enjoyed Kai Ramen and we hope you do too.  Let me know where your favorite ramen shop is, where ever it may be.  

See menu in english and japanese below.  

photo-2

Kai Japanese Ramen Honolulu
Photo Credit: ionasiatrend.com

unnamed

Kai Japanese Ramen Honolulu
Photo Credit: ionasiatrend.com

      

Shoyu Ramen @ Kai Ramen Honolulu Photo Credit: ionasiatrend.com

Shoyu Ramen @ Kai Japanese Ramen Honolulu
Photo Credit: ionasiatrend.com

Goma Tan Tan Men Photo Credit: ionasiatrend.com

Goma Tan Tan Men @ Kai Japanese Ramen Honolulu Photo Credit: ionasiatrend.com

Mini-curry @ Kai Ramen Honolulu Photo Credit: ionasiatrend.com

Mini-curry @ Kai Ramen Honolulu
Photo Credit: ionasiatrend.com

Gyoza @ Kai Ramen Honolulu  Photo Credit: ionasiatrend.com

Gyoza @ Kai Ramen Honolulu
Photo Credit: ionasiatrend.com

Happy Hour  Photo Credit: ionasiatrend.com

Happy Hour
Photo Credit: ionasiatrend.com

 

 

 

Enhanced by Zemanta

Your comments are always welcomed

